Blog to Fight Childhood Hunger

In this day and age kids across America wake up hungry everyday. As a child even though times were tough my mom made sure we had breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I only viewed child hunger by the few infomercials that came on television. As an adult, child hunger is a lot closer to home than 25 years ago. But either way, we can do something about it. Share Our Strength , a campaign to end childhood hunger, has teamed up with Macaroni Grill giving bloggers and their subscribers a chance to make a difference during the Month of September. All you have to do is write about your favorite Italian style recipe and meals will be provided for those in need. Just 1 blog post through September 1st- September 30th can make a difference. Even though I am watching my figure, one thing I love is helping our children and this particular campaign is near and dear to my heart. And those that know me well……. know that me, kids, and food are a great combination.

My favorite Italian meal is a large pan of Lasagna. Which I usually make to last a few days. But with our hectic schedule I also like making sure I’m not preparing half the night. Thanks to one of my favorite television personalities, Giada, I have learned a great tip that will still keep the family happy. My family loved our new take on Lasagna and I still had time to spend on dessert. Try it and let me know what you think.

2 bags frozen 3 cheese tortellini

1bag fresh baby spinach

2 bags of italian style meatballs

2 cups of shredded Parmesan reggiano

2 bottles of your favorite tomato sauce (I prefer chunky)

1/3 cup olive oil

oregano

pinch of salt & pepper

1/2 garlic clove

Instead of your regular lasagna noodles, buy and keep packs of cheese tortellini in the freezer. No boiling involved. Cut your meatballs in half. Poor a surface layer of olive oil in your pan then start layering. Tortellini, meatballs, spinach, tomato sauce, and cheese. Keep layering and on your top layer of cheese, sprinkle oregano and a pinch of salt and pepper. (I like adding fresh pressed garlic to my olive oil for pasta dishes)

All I can say is this came out delicious and took no more than 20 minutes."Tortellini Lasagna"
Share your favorite Italian dish and make a difference. Bloggers, write your post and send to macgrillgive@saegermediagroup.com. If you don’t blog, but want to support this magnificent campaign, head to your local Macaroni Grill or copy and paste the link into your browser http://www.macaronigrill.com/ and donate $2 and get $5 off your next meal. For my Tweeples and Instagrammers hashtag #macgrillgive to a message or photo of your favorite Macaroni Grill meal or share an artist inspired picture from the Mac Grill Give Facebook Gallery and another child in need will be connected to a meal. For every blog post Macaroni Grill will donate $50 to connect a child up to 500 meals. Everyone can get involved. Make sure you check the MacGrillGive site to find out the many ways you can help.

In this great country of ours no child should go hungry. Let’s make our voices heard ………”NO KID HUNGRY!!!!!!!!”

Categories: In the News, Out and About | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Blog to Fight Childhood Hunger

  1. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d
    ask. Would you be interested in exchanging
    links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My blog goes over a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could
    greatly benefit from each other. If you are interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Wonderful blog by the way!

Your turn...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

