Chores!!!!

Ughghh! I am sorry but this is a touchy subject for me. I work very hard and with the stress of my job always having to come home and run household cleanup kills me. Don’t get me wrong I love my house being clean but I didn’t have to clean up after people growing up. But now….. Lawd help me. I work days and he works nights so a lot of the household chores fall on me. Some of which is my fault because I can be a jerk if something is not done my way.
Our son has gotten old enough where he has daily chore responsibilities but that’s the tip of the iceberg.

Before we lived together I thought the only thing I had to worry about was the food budget. In my Charlie Murphy voice “wrong, wrong”. This dude can use 10 different glasses in one day. Why you can’t wash your glass out and refill it like everybody else? He will prepare a snack on one plate and eat it on another. Sooo this type of behavior has changed me from buying nice plates, glasses and silverware for everyday use to stocking up on styrofoam plates, cups and utensils. At first I thought it was tacky but having a conversation with some of my other girlfriends, I found I wasn’t the only one. Literally I ended up hating washing dishes because it was like, how did the sink pile up so fast. It was frustrating.

We have been discussing having a cleaning service come in once a month. Some of my girlfriends have done the same and because of their experiences, I know how and what to look for. One of my girlfriends felt bad because she didn’t know if she was tipping her maid properly, all at the same time I understood why she wasn’t . If you pay someone weekly, monthly, bi-monthly to clean your house and laundry is NOT included a pay cut needs to be discussed. As a mother of two I’ve learned that one thing that can keep you on your toes while running a tight ship is Laundry. For our whole family we average about 10 loads every two weeks. 2 bags each inclusive of bed and bath linens. Then when your children are small it’s a little more dealing with spills, accidents, and the occasional I colored on my pants to add colors moments. Then it takes 4-5 hours to fold, iron and put it all away. Adding dishes, sweeping, making beds, changing linens, mopping, dusting along with your 10 hour work day, coming home helping kids with homework, cooking dinner, actually spending time with your kids, baths and getting them ready for bed. Sheesh! You sure The Department Labor hasn’t created a wage rates and regulations for occupation: Mother yet. Luckily I have help because some days I wanna throw in the towel. So with that being said, if you are seeking additional help around the house make sure ALL your needs are met. Who wants to pay for service where you still come home picking up the slack. I am soo glad that my girls have these types of discussions because sometimes I think it’s just me.

How does your family split up chores? Do you or have you tried maid/cleaning service? What are some household chores you could live without doing?

Categories: Couples Session, Parenting/The Kids | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Chores!!!!

  1. I love I love I can relate… great…There are no women duties. Everybody lives there:

    1)Everyone picks up behind themselves
    2)Make your bed as soon as you get out of it.. Change every week.
    3)Clean up behind yourself in the bathroom – sink, tub, toiltet, floor…
    4)Hang up or fold your clothes immediately and put them away.
    5)sweep the kitchen everyday
    6) Vacumm & dust at least once a week

  2. This sickness is everywhere!!

Your turn...

Blog at WordPress.com.

