#3

The last time you heard from me, I was headed to the BlogaliciousFive Conference. It was FABULOUS and gave me such a clearer view of what I needed to do to be great as a blogger and a business owner. Also met so many great people that even during my hiatus would send a note of encouragement and motivation. Because of that, I’M BACK!!!!!!!!! I know it’s been a while (1.5 years to be exact). But I have soo much to share. I’ve missed my readers, my passion for writing, but most of all my VOICE. I was ready to put my plan in motion but arrived back home to few set backs. 

Evidently while I was gone my daughter got away with eating whatever she wanted with daddy and ended up experiencing severe food allergies. Back to back episodes of itching with a full body hives, including welts on her face. After 3 weeks we learned she had allergies to Strawberries (her favorite fruit), raspberries, tomatoes, shellfish and the acidity in pineapples and oranges works as a trigger. Once we got her back on track, she caught a virus at school, which made its way through our entire household. For some reason a week after the virus cleared the house, I was still having vomiting spells. Called the doctor and she suggested I give it a few more days. As she explained “mommy ends up taking a little longer to recover because we don’t get proper rest to get better while taking care of everyone else.” Another week goes by, so I go in to get blood drawn. Because at this point I’m vomiting just cause. At work, at home, morning, and evening. I had recently lost 35 lbs, was working out and trying to put that fire back into our relationship. (You know that fire most couples have before kids, bills, etc.).  I guess God had other plans…………..”Ms.Carter we are so happy to let you know you’re pregnant. That’s good news, Right?” RIGHT.

Yes my first thoughts were my lymphedema, gaining that weight back, if I could comfortably carry again without any arterial blockages, would it be another ectopic pregnancy.  But  I couldn’t let fear control my heart. I knew God was giving my baby another chance.

7 months prior when I was rushed to the hospital from passing out in my bathroom and experiencing sharp paralyzing pains in my abdomen, this man almost lost his mind. My man panicked, all I kept hearing is ” Jaye get up, get up!” Luckily my mom was in the house and called the ambulance. They had to lift me off the toilet and all he was worried about was my pants being down. Lol Anywho that morning at the hospital he never left my side. He asked questions, he held my hand, he kissed me, he even got frustrated because to him they were taking to long to tell us what was wrong. Once they told us that it was an ectopic pregnancy, I cried. He said “how are you crying and the fetus hadn’t even formed yet.” I understood him, but what my body went through with my daughter, I just knew I could never have another healthy pregnancy. He asked what would we have even named the baby. My immediate response was “Carter”. I continued “After me there isn’t anyone to carry on my family name. With 3 girls once we get married our last name goes. It’s apart of us. We’ve been “The Carter girls” all of our life.” I was shocked but he actually thought it was cool. He kissed me as I was injected with the first round of khemo and it was never discussed again.

Evidently “Carter ” was meant to be here. He wasn’t necessarily in the plans, but I guess he was a part of the master plan. And I wouldn’t change that for anything.

Meet 7 month old Carter Vann Jackson ( He doesn’t only carry my family name. His name is made up of all the family last names), our #3.

Edit





Categories: Parenting/The Kids | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “#3

  1. YMSSS Team

    Welcome back, Hon! – Patrice

  2. Congrats and welcome back!

  3. Beautifully written. Love your “Voice” , Heart & Integrity

  4. Welcome back sister! We both have to get back on the grind, but we have pretty awesome excuses for our hiatus that can now serve as inspiration 😉

Your turn...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

