Locs: This Natural Hair Thang

Let me tell ya’ll…….. Having Locs is not easy.  Whoever keeps spreading this lie is Cray Cray!!  I Love my Locs, but I have also explained previously that I am not a Hair Person.  But over the past 3 years, I have done more hair than I probably have at any time in my life.  Loc Maintenance is No Joke!  So let me tell you about the most important things that I have learned having locs:

  • Hydration is Key
  • Cannot Use any products that cause Buildup
  • Keeping your scalp oiled keeps your locs looking healthy
  • Still need to clip your ends regularly
  • If you love color, use a color treatment Shampoo and conditioner
  • Protective styling is great for growth
  • Styling is UNLIMITED
  • YouTube Tutorials are your Friend
My  Lady Locs

My Lady Locs

Some of these things are also key to regular natural hair care. I use to have a closet full of products but after my 1 year old was diagnosed with asthma, I had to get rid of any products with strong fragrances or lasting aromas. Which made me narrow my product list down quite a bit. But to make sure I’m maintaining healthy Locs, here are some of my favorite mildly scented hair care products:

  • Doo Gro Mega Thick Growth Oil (retail value $8.99 4.5oz.)
  • Doo Gro Mega Thick Anti-Thinning Growth Lotion (retail value $8.99 12oz.)
  • Clairol Root Cleansing Strawberry and Ginger Shampoo (retail Value $9.99 10oz.)
  • 12 Benefits Instant Healthy Hair Treatments (retail value $17.99 6oz.)

IMG_7452

What products would you refer for healthy loc maintenance that I could use around my asthmatic baby boy?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Your turn...

Blog at WordPress.com.